2021 Ballon d’Or Nominees: See How Chelsea Dominates The List

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Robert Lewandowski are among the nominees on the 30-man 2021 Ballon d’Or longlist to have been released by France Football.

Other genius players to get approval on the list include Erling Haaland, Kylian Mbappe, Karim Benzema and Romelu Lukaku.

A Golden Ball heading toward any of those referenced above would shock no one, but the likes of Euro 2020 winner Jorginho and his Chelsea partner N’Golo Kante also have their sights set on a shock win.

The List Of Nominees: 2021 Ballon d’Or

Cesar Azpilicueta

Article proceeds beneath

Nicolo Barella

Karim Benzema

Leonardo Bonucci

Giorgio Chiellini

Kevin De Bruyne

Ruben Dias

Gianluigi Donnarumma

Bruno Fernandes

Phil Foden

Erling Haaland


Harry Kane

N’Golo Kante

Simon Kjaer

Robert Lewandowski

Romelu Lukaku

Riyad Mahrez

Lautaro Martinez

Kylian Mbappe

Lionel Messi

Luka Modric

Gerard Moreno

Artisan Mount



Cristiano Ronaldo

Mohamed Salah

Raheem Sterling

Luis Suarez

Before the winner is announced, a choice of international journalists, national team coaches and captains will have a poll to decide the winner, with every elector being approached to select their top five.

When that interaction has been completed, the esteemed prize will be given out at a breathtaking function in Paris on November 29.

Argentine whiz Messi was the last man to receive the male award back in 2019, with the famous South American asserting top prize for a record-breaking 6th time.

Bayern Munich striker Lewandowski passed up succeeding the now Paris Saint-Germain forward in spite of partaking in an amazing run in front of goal last year – with the striker managing with a FIFA Best award.

Messi and Ronaldo have shared 11 of the last 12 Ballons d’Or between them, with Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric the first man to have broken their duopoly in 2018.

Among the other eminent names to have taken first prize in the past are Kaka, Fabio Cannavaro, Ronaldinho, Michael Owen, Luis Figo, Zineidine Zidane, Ronaldo, George Weah, Marco van Basten, Roberto Baggio, Michel Platini, Franz Beckenbauer, Johan Cruyff, Gerd Muller, George Best, Bobby Charlton, Lev Yashin, Alfredo Di Stefano and Stanley Matthews.


The current holder of the womens’ award is USWNT star Megan Rapinoe, with England’s Lucy Bronze completing as runner up in 2019.

The debut winner of the female Golden Ball back in 2018 was Norwegian star Ada Hegerberg, who has recently gotten back to action with Lyon following 21 months stuck uninvolved through injury.

Meanwhile, 20 nominees for the women’s award has additionally been released, with geniuses like Sam Kerr, Pernille Harder, and Vivianne Miedema making the rundown.

Rapinoe was not nominated this time around, however her international colleague Sam Mewis made the list as the main American chosen.

Alexia Putellas, who won this year’s UEFA Women’s Player of the Year Award is on the list, just as three significant supporters for Canada’s Olympic gold decoration winners: Jessie Fleming, Ashley Lawrence and Christine Sinclair.

Full List:

Alexia Putellas

Magdalena Eriksson

Marie-Antoinette Katoto

Sam Kerr

Stina Blackstenius

Wendie Renard

Samantha Mewis

Pernille Harder

Vivianne Miedema

Sandra Panos

Lieke Martens

Jessie Fleming

Irene Paredes

Ashley Lawrence

Christine Sinclair

Ellen White

Christiane Endler

Jennifer Hermoso

Fran Kirby

Kadidiatou Diani

Under 21-Kopa Trophy:

France Football announced 10-man waitlists for two further awards: the Kopa Trophy, given to the best performing player younger than 21, and the Yashin Trophy, given to the best goalkeeper.

Kopa Trophy waitlist: Mason Greenwood, Bukayo Saka, Pedri, Jeremy Doku, Ryan Gravenberch, Jamal Musiala, Florian Wirtz, Jude Bellingham, Giovanni Reyna, Nuno Mendes

Yashin Trophy waitlist: Gianluigi Donnarumma, Ederson, Kasper Schmeichel, Edouard Mendy, Keylor Navas, Emiliano Martínez, Manuel Neuer, Jan Oblak, Samir Handanovic.

Meanwhile, Chelsea’s Romelu Lukaku, Mason Mount, Cesar Azpilicueta, Jorginho, and N’Golo Kante have been named in the list of the 30-man 2021 Ballon d’Or for their significant roles in Chelsea’s success under manager Thomas Tuchel, with the team’s number five additionally playing a key role in Italy’s win at the Euro 2020 tourney.

Chelsea’s midfield maestro would be the first Italian to win the esteemed award since Fabio Cannavaro won it in 2006, while playing for Real Madrid, should Jorginho scoop the desired prize.

N’Golo Kante has received his third nomination since showing up at Chelsea in 2016. The Frenchman completed in eighth spot in 2017 after our title-winning season, and furthermore positioned in eleventh spot the accompanying season.

N’Golo was named the UEFA Man of the Match when Chelsea beat Manchester City on that exceptional Porto night in May and has been a pillar in the team since his landing in Stamford Bridge.

Romelu Lukaku also helped beat Inter Milan to their first Serie A title in more than 10 years in the wake of scoring 24 goals. He has been exceptionally remarkable both for nation and club, along these lines had the right to be in the list.

In the wake of arriving at the Euro 2020 quarter-finals with Belgium in the mid year, Lukaku got back to Chelsea toward the beginning of the period, and has scored four goals in his eight beginnings up until now.

Mason Mount is deservedly named without precedent for his fledging career, further adding to the solid Chelsea appearing.

Edouard Mendy is additionally essential for the 10-man solid waitlist for the Yachin Trophy, which is explicitly for goalkeepers. The Blues’ safest pair of hands is just the second ever Chelsea goalkeeper to have been named for the award, after Kepa Arrizabalaga was shortlisted in the debut edition in 2019.

The Senegalese international was instrumental in Chelsea’s Champions League win last season, keeping a urgent clean sheet in the Final in Porto.

Mendy has kept 10 clean sheets in 14 Champions League games since joining the club, just as keeping 19 clean sheets in his 37 Premier League appearances.

The goalkeeper’s uncommon performance last season were compensated by team achievement and prizes as well as individual honors, as he was awarded the Best Goalkeeper of the 20/21 season by UEFA.


Cristiano Ronaldo’s Earnings To ‘Beat Down’ Lionel Messi’s..

He also equalled the record for most clean sheets in a particular Champions League crusade, when keeping nine of every 12 appearances.

Additionally, Chelsea’s Fran Kirby, Pernille Harder, Sam Kerr, Magda Eriksson and Jessie Fleming – have all been nominated for the 20-resilient Women’s Award.

Nobody has won the Ballon d’Or award as a Chelsea player, however former Blues Andriy Shevchenko (2004), George Weah (1995) and Ruud Gullit (1987) were all winners while with AC Milan.

Frank Lampard has the best showing by a player while at Chelsea. He completed second in 2005. Drogba was fourth in the 2007 Awards.

This year’s winners are set to be announced in Paris on November 29, with former Chelsea striker Drogba to be one of the hosts.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *