2022 U-20 Women’s World Cup: The Results So Far

The tenth FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup started in Costa Rica on Wednesday, August 10, 2022.

The competition will see 16 countries competing for the ultimate with 32 matches played across 19 days.

The opening game saw Germany losing to Colombia by 1-0, and New Zealand also drew 1-1 with Mexico.

In the other games, Australia shocked the host Costa Rica by 3-1, whilst Brazil face also drew 0-0 with Spain.

Among the teams representing Africa is Ghana’s Black Princesses, who also shows up at the international masterpiece.

The Black Princesses will play against USA in their first group game on Thursday August 11, before taking on Japan and the Netherlands in the ensuing Group D matches.

Having failed to go past the group stage in all past five endeavors, Ghana is quick to conquer that obstacle and advance to the knockout stage of the 2022 world cup.

Meanwhile, Mukarama Abdulai-the general captain of the Black Princesses, has asked Ghanaian fans to massively support them at the international stage.

Mukarama Abdulai

“They should keep pushing their support behind us. They should always put their prayers behind us [because] we need it. Without them, we can’t do it alone,” she added.

The FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Costa Rica 2022 is upon us; Ghana’s Black Princesses starts their quest to qualify beyond the group stages for the first time in history on Thursday when they line up against familiar foes USA. @Zkwabena has the details.#JoySports pic.twitter.com/rdwgRnG8xp

— Fent is here #NewSigning (@JoySportsGH) August 9, 2022
The African challenge

Hoisting the flag of Africa will be two west African countries: Nigeria and Ghana.

Nigeria’s U20 girls, Falconets have been drawn to face France and Canada in the group stage of this year’s FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup.

Nigeria is among four countries to have played in all previous nine editions of the U-20 Women’s World Cup, along with Germany, Brazil and USA.

England’s Historic Triumph At The Women’s Euro 2022 Tournament

Nigeria have also finished as runners-up on two occasions – 2010 and 2014.


Estadio Nacional, situated in Costa Rica’s capital city of San José, and Estadio Morera Sota in Alajuela, will act as host stadium for the competition.

The winners of the tournament will crowned 18 days later with the final set to take place at San José’s Estadio Nacional on Sunday, 28 August.

Four countries have been crowned FIFA Women’s U-20 World Cup champions since the competition’s inception in 2002, including Germany, Japan, Korea DPR and the U.S.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *