All You Need To Know About SWAG Elections And The Winners

SWAG President, Kwabena Yeboah

Members of the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) have elected new leaders for the next four-year tenure.

Out of a total of 266 eligible voters, 193 cast their ballots to elect new leaders for the association on Saturday, October 21, 2023, through E-Voting saw the appointment of a few new faces to take up different roles in the Association as Executive Members.

Incumbent President, Kwabena Yeboah went unopposed and consequently held his seat as the President.

Nonetheless, Maurice Quansah was deposed as the Vice President by Evelyn Nsiah Asare become the first female VP of the Association.

Evelyn Nsiah Asare polled 128 of absolute 193 representing 48.12 percent of complete votes cast to beat the occupant Mr. Maurice Quansah who had 65 votes representing 24.44 percent.

Sitting General Secretary, Charles Osei Asibey additionally went unopposed and in this way held his seat.

The Deputy General Secretary position which was a tough seat prompting the election was challenged by Kenneth Odeng Adade and Joseph Oti-Asirifi Mensah.

Eventually, Mr Adade had 148 out 193 representing 55.64 percent of the complete votes cast while Mr Mensah figured out how to get 43 votes representing 16.17 percent, making Mr Adade the new Deputy General Secretary of the Association.

Owuraku Nsiah and Mavis Amanor both went unopposed as Treasurer and Women’s Commissioner, a new portfolio added to the Executive Board of the Association. Mavis thus becomes the first woman to fill that position.

13th African Games: Projects For The Continental Showpiece Are Almost Complete

Four contestants stood to be elected as Executive Committee members and eventually, Tilda Elinam Accorlor led the pack with 161 votes representing 60.53 per cent followed by Augustine Ohene-Bampoe Brenya, an incumbent with 147 votes representing 55.26 per cent and Franklin Anane with 144 votes representing 54.14 per cent while Kyei Manu also polled 121 representing 45.49 per cent of votescast.

With this results, Tilda, Brenya and Franklin got the slots as Executive Committee members of the SWAG.

In his speech after the elections, SWAG President Kwabena Yeboah had this to say:

“I personally do not think there are winners and losers here. SWAG has never and will never be about the Executives. We are in this together. Our hardworking forbears graciously handed an enviable legacy to us.

“That its bequeathal to ensure continued hard work and commitment only to the bigger picture. SWAG as a family. We swim or sink together.”

The elections was completed through E-Casting a ballot and was overseen by Mawuko Afadzinu, Richard Akpokavie, Lady Gloria Commodore, Mathias Tibu as Secretary and Kwabena Osei Tutu.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *