CAF Awards 2023: Victor Osimhen And Oshoala Pick Up The Big Awards

Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala offering their appreciation at the Awards night

Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala has won the biggest individual awards at the CAF Awards 2023 in the Moroccan city of Marrakech on Monday night, 11 December 2023.

Osimhen, the Nigerian striker who stood out as truly newsworthy in Italy and also for his commitment in the Super Eagles team, won the CAF African Player of the Year for the first time while his comrade, Oshoala won her record 6th CAF African Womens’ Player of the Year.

Osimhen’s relentless journey saw him battle off fierce opposition from Moroccan full-back Achraf Hakimi and Egyptian striker Mohammed Salah.

Then again, Nigerian icon Oshoala got the CAF Womens’ Player of the Year for a record 6th time. The striker’s strength went on as she enlivened Barcelona to Champions League magnificence, completing as the club’s top scorer with 27 goals across all competitions.

Morocco’s Walid Regragui was crowned CAF’s Best Coach of the Year in the Men’s category – recognised for guiding the Atlas Lions to a historic World Cup semi-final run in Qatar.

South Africa’s Desiree Ellis secured the Best Coach award in the women’s category for her outstanding work with Banyana Banyana. This was Ellis’ record fourth award in this category, which she has won consistently since 2018.

In CAF InterClub, South Africa and Al Ahly’s Percy Tau won the CAF InterClub Player of the Year.

Senegal’s Lamine Camara, the 19-year-old FC Metz forward, clinched the CAF Young Player of the Year award, marking his meteoric rise in African football.

Moroccan wonder player Nesryne El Chad won the debut CAF Womens’ Young Player of the Year.

Following their performance at the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022, Morocco was named Men’s National Team of the Year, and Nigeria was named Women’s National Team of the Year.

Egypt’s Al Ahly secured the Male Club of the Year award, with the womens’ award going to South African side Mamelodi Sundowns.

Two members of Morocco’s World Cup semi-final team were included in the male category, with South Africa dominating the continent’s Best XI players.

Victor Osimhen Has Now Broken Ronaldo’s Goals Record In..

A panel of CAF Technical Committee members, Head Coaches, National Team captains, and professionals in the media cast their votes to select the category winners.

Complete List of Winners:

Player of the Year (Men): Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)

Player of the Year (Women): Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men): Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women): Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

Coach of the Year (Men): Walid Regragui (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men): Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women): Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

Young Player of the Year (Men): Lamine Camara (Senegal, Metz)

Young Player of the Year (Women): Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)

National Team of the Year (Men): Morocco

National Team of the Year (Women): Nigeria

Club of the Year (Men): Al Ahly (Egypt)

Club of the Year (Women): Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *