EURO 2024: Scheduled Dates And Everything You Need To Know About The Championship

Germany will host the UEFA European Championship in 2024. Germany was selected to host the 17th edition of the competition at a UEFA Executive Committee meeting on September 27, 2018, in Nyon.

The sole other nation that applied to host UEFA EURO 2024 was Turkey. The 1988 tournament was held in West Germany, but Germany will host the UEFA European Championship for the first time since its reunification. The country also hosted the FIFA World Cup in 2006.

EURO 2024 Host Cities:

Host venues are as follows:

Berlin: Olympiastadion Berlin (current capacity: 70,000)
Cologne: Cologne Stadium (47,000)
Dortmund: BVB Stadion Dortmund (66,000)
Dusseldorf: Düsseldorf Arena (47,000)
Frankfurt: Frankfurt Arena (48,000)
Gelsenkirchen: Arena AufSchalke (50,000)
Hamburg: Volksparkstadion Hamburg (50,000)
Leipzig: Leipzig Stadium (42,000)
Munich: Munich Football Arena (67,000)
Stuttgart: Stuttgart Arena (54,000)

UEFA EURO 2024 Schedule:

The ten venues chosen to host games at the tournament include nine of the stadiums used at the 2006 World Cup plus the Düsseldorf Arena.

Uniquely, the Munich Football Arena will be staging matches for the second EURO in succession; Bayern München’s home ground was one of 11 arenas that hosted games at UEFA EURO 2020.

Meanwhile, the UEFA EURO 2024 final tournament is scheduled to take place from 14 June to 14 July 2024.

Where and when will the final of UEFA EURO 2024 be played?:

Berlin’s Olympiastadion will stage the final on Sunday 14 July 2024.

Hosts Germany will feature in the opening game of UEFA EURO 2024 at the Munich Football Arena on Friday 14 June.

Public ticket sales for UEFA EURO 2024 will start on German Unity Day, 3 October 2023.


Germany qualify for the finals as hosts, meaning that the nation will be represented at a 14th consecutive EURO; Germany/West Germany have featured at every EURO since 1972. West Germany won the 1972 and 1980 editions, while the reunited Germany triumphed at EURO ’96.

FIFA Is 119 Years Old. This Is The Major Ambition

That leaves a total of 23 finals berths to be filled via the European Qualifiers which run from March to November 2023, and via play-offs scheduled for March 2024.

Qualifying Format:

Teams have been placed into ten groups of five (including those containing the four UEFA Nations League Finals participants) or six. Sides play home and away in a round-robin format, with the group winners and runners-up advancing directly to the final tournament. The remaining three teams will be decided through the play-offs, featuring 12 teams selected based on their performance in the 2022/23 Nations League.

Group A: Spain, Scotland, Norway, Georgia, Cyprus

Group B: Netherlands, France, Republic of Ireland, Greece, Gibraltar

Group C: Italy, England, Ukraine, North Macedonia, Malta

Group D: Croatia, Wales, Armenia, Türkiye, Latvia

Group E: Poland, Czechia, Albania, Faroe Islands, Moldova

Group F: Belgium, Austria, Sweden, Azerbaijan, Estonia

Group G: Hungary, Serbia, Montenegro, Bulgaria, Lithuania

Group H: Denmark, Finland, Slovenia, Kazakhstan, Northern Ireland, San Marino

Group I: Switzerland, Israel, Romania, Kosovo, Belarus, Andorra

Group J: Portugal, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Liechtenstein

Regulations & Format:

The format will be the same as for UEFA EURO 2020. The top two in each of the six final tournament groups will proceed to the round of 16 along with the four best third-placed finishers.

Key Qualifying Dates:

9 October 2022: qualifying draw, Festhalle Frankfurt
23–25 March 2023: group stage, Matchday 1
26–28 March 2023: group stage, Matchday 2
16–17 June 2023: group stage, Matchday 3
19–20 June 2023: group stage, Matchday 4
7–9 September 2023: group stage, Matchday 5
10–12 September 2023: group stage, Matchday 6
12–14 October 2023: group stage, Matchday 7
15–17 October 2023: group stage, Matchday 8
16–18 November 2023: group stage, Matchday 9
19–21 November 2023: group stage, Matchday 10
21 March 2024: play-off semi-finals
26 March 2024: play-off finals

Final Tournament:

December 2023: UEFA EURO 2024 final tournament draw, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg

14 June 2024: UEFA EURO 2024 opening game, Munich Football Arena

14 July 2024: UEFA EURO 2024 final, Olympiastadion Berlin

City Ambassadors for EURO 2024:

Berlin: Kevin-Prince Boateng
Cologne: Harald Schumacher
Dortmund: Roman Weidenfeller, Annike Krahn
Düsseldorf: Martina Voss-Tecklenburg, Sandra Mikolaschek, Selin Oruz
Frankfurt: Alex Meier, Deborah Levi
Gelsenkirchen: Gerald Asamoah
Hamburg: Patrick Esume
Leipzig: Professor Dr Jörg Junhold, Anja Mittag, Jürgen Zielinski
Munich: Dr Felix Brych
Stuttgart: Cacau, Niko Kappel, Eli Seitz

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *