Excellent Films To Be Celebrated At The 9th Edition Of The 2023 AMVCA

The AMVCA is anticipated to be an exciting event, as this year’s entry portal opened on February 20 and will remain open until March 10. The last edition was a memorable one, with Toyin Abraham being declared as the AMVCA’s ‘Best Actress on the evening.

The beginning of preparations for the ninth edition of the Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Award (AMVCA) have been announced by MultiChoice this year.

On Monday, February 20, in Lagos, Nigeria, MultiChoice’s Head of Content and West Africa Channels, Dr. Busola Tejumola, made the announcement in a statement.

Dr. Busola asked all African filmmakers to submit their films for the 2023 awards, which will be broadcast between December 1, 2021 and January 31, 2023.

As per Dr Busola, the submission portal will close on March 10, so filmmakers should submit on time.

“To enter the awards, all filmmakers must prepare a 5-minute-long show reel, the video must be less than 300MB and submitted on the Africa Magic website. After that, the website will allocate a unique reference number to each completed online submission.

“All films (aired in cinemas or otherwise), made-for-television movies or television series are eligible so long as they fall within the specified timeline,” she said.

Dr. Busola further said, the AMVCA returned last year after a one-year absence with a great deal of pomp and pageantry. The celebration lasted eight days and included a variety of activities that impacted the various facets of the film industry.

This year’s AMVCA will once more demonstrate the organizers’ deliberateness in highlighting the continent’s tremendous talent in the African film and television industry. The social media category won by the rising comedian Sabinus last year will be back at the AMVCA in 2023.

According to Dr. Busola, the “Best Online Social Content Creator” award reflected the continent’s growing acceptance of content creators.

She explained that there were also emotional wins in categories like the Trailblazer and Lifetime Awards.

During the time under review, young actors will be eager to win the trailblazer award, which will be a significant career achievement.

This Is Why Nigeria’s Music Industry Is Thriving- Kwabena Kwabena

Attendees will attempt to surpass Osas Ighodaro and Denola Grey’s stunning looks from last year in the forward-thinking “Best-Dressed” male and female categories, which will also return.

In addition, Ighodaro won the award for “Best Actress in a Drama” for her performance in “Rattlesnake: The Story of Ahanna.

Osas and her film were one of the biggest winners of the night because it won three other awards, including “Best Director (Movie),” “Best Cinematographer,” and “Best Actor in a Drama.”

“Amina,” directed by Izu Ojukwu, also had a great May night, winning four awards for “Best Art Director,” “Best Costume Designer,” “Best Sound Editor,” and “Best Overall Movie.”

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *