FIFA U-20 World Cup: Semi-Finalists, Top Goalscorers And All The..

Juan de los Santos set up both of Uruguay’s goals as they defeated the USA 2-0 to advance to the Argentina 2023 semi-final against Israel.

Duarte and Wynder scored the two goals, with Wynder’s own goal sealing the win for Uruguay. In the 21st and 56th minutes, respectively, the goals were scored.

Juan de los Santos’s invention was crucial as Uruguay defeated the USA in the FIFA U-20 World Cup Argentina 2023 quarterfinal. They will now meet Israel in the semi-finals on Thursday June 8.

De los Santos did a fantastic job of stealing the ball from Justin Che and cutting it across the goal for Anderson Duarte to score. Joshua Wynder accidentally turned the fleet-footed No. 11’s subsequent low cross into his own net after the restart.

Cade Cowell made an effort to bring the USA back into the game, but one of his goal-bound attempts missed Rokas Pukstas, his own teammate, and ended up safe.

With this victory, Uruguay became the first team in 15 FIFA U-20 World Cup matches to keep a clean sheet against the USA.

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™: Tickets Now On Sale

Meanwhile, the following are the schedules for the 2023 FIFA U-20 World Cup Semifinals:

Semi-final 1: June 8, Thursday

Uruguay v Israel

Semi-final 2: June 8, Thursday

Italy v Korea Republic

On the flip side, these are the top goalscorers at Argentina 2023 and information on previous adidas Golden Boot winners at the FIFA U-20 World Cup™.

6 goals
Cesare Casadei – Italy

5 goals
Marcos Leonardo – Brazil

4 goals
Oscar Cortes – Colombia
Justin Cuero – Ecuador

3 goals
Cade Cowell – USA
Alan Virginius – France
Alejo Veliz – Argentina
Tomas Angel – Colombia

Previous Golden Boot winners
1977: Guina – Brazil (4 goals)
1979: Ramon Diaz – Argentina (8)
1981: Mark Koussas – Australia (4)
1983: Geovani Silva – Brazil (6)
1985: Sebastian Losada – Spain (3)
1987: Marcel Witeczek – West Germany (7)
1989: Oleg Salenko – Soviet Union (5)
1991: Serhiy Shcherbakov – Soviet Union (5)
1993: Henry Zambrano – Colombia (3)
1995: Joseba Etxeberria – Spain (7)
1997: Adailton – Brazil (10)
1999: Pablo Counago – Spain (5)
2001: Javier Saviola – Argentina (11)
2003: Eddie Johnson – USA (4)
2005: Lionel Messi – Argentina (6)
2007: Sergio Aguero – Argentina (6)

2009: Dominic Adiyiah – Ghana (8)
2011: Henrique – Brazil (5)
2013: Ebenezer Assifuah – Ghana (6)
2015: Viktor Kovalenko – Ukraine (5)
2017: Riccardo Orsolini – Italy (5)
2019: Erling Haaland – Norway (9)

Meanwhile, Marcel Witeczek who turned 50 this year, became the first ever winner of the Golden Shoe at an U-17 World Cup in 1985, and in 1987 he won the award again at the U-20 tournament – as well as the Bronze Ball 🙌

All The Facts:

Javier Saviola holds the record for most goals: 11 in 2001.

Erling Haaland is the only player to have netted all his Golden Boot-winning goals in one game. The Norway striker netted nine times in a 12-0 thumping of Honduras in 2019.

The most a player has scored and not won the Golden Boot is six. The figure was achieved by Diego Maradona in 1979, Davor Suker in 1987, and Adriano and David Trezeguet in 2001.

FIFA Is 119 Years Old. This Is The Major Ambition

Only one player has won the adidas Golden Boot at the FIFA U-20 World Cup and the FIFA World Cup™. Oleg Salenko seized the awards at Saudi Arabia 1989 and USA 1994 respectively. Another two came very close.

Davor Suker held onto the Silver Boot at Chile 1987 and the Golden Boot at France 1998, while Lionel Messi secured the Golden Boot at Netherlands 2005 and the Silver Boot at Qatar 2022.

Argentina and Brazil have had the joint-most Golden Boot winners: Ramon Diaz, Javier Saviola, Lionel Messi and Sergio Aguero did it for the Albiceleste, while Guina, Geovani Silva, Adailton and Henrique did it for the Seleção.

Five players have won the Golden Boot while not operating up front: Guina in 1977, Geovani Silva in 1983, Serhiy Shcherbakov in 1991, Viktor Kovalenko in 2015 and Riccardo Orsolini in 2017.

Europe and South America have claimed nine Golden Boots apiece. They are followed by Africa (2), North, Central America and Caribbean (1) and Oceania (1).

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *