Lionel Messi Wins Ballon d’Or For The Seventh Time (Beautiful Photos)

Lionel Messi has won his seventh Ballon d’Or title on Monday November 29.

This is a record-stretching win for Messi, who presently has two additional titles than his most outstanding rival Cristiano Ronaldo.

Messi played a fundamental role in assisting Argentina with winning the Copa América title recently. He additionally finished as the Spanish league’s top scorer and scored two goals as Barca won the Copa del Rey.

Before he left for Paris Saint-Germain in the mid year, Barcelona had completed third in La Liga and had been taken out of the Champions League in the first round.

“I’m really proud to win the France Football Ballon d’Or once again,” Messi said. “It’s incredible to win it for the seventh time. I would like to thank my family, my friends and all the people who follow me and always support me, because without them I couldn’t have done it.”

Robert Lewandowski with his wife. The Bayern Munich player was crowned the Striker Of The Year

Messi beat down rivalry from Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski, who scored 53 goals this year, more than some other players in Europe’s top five leagues.

The Polish striker was broadly expected to win last year’s honor before it was dropped because of the pandemic.

During his winning speech, Messi said he thought Lewandowski would’ve won the honor the year before.

“You deserve your Ballon D’Or. Last year, everyone was in agreement to say that you were the big winner,” Messi said.

Alexia Putellas

Meanwhile, Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas won her first Ballon d’Or Féminin title. Putellas, was an instrumental player in Barcelona’s high pitch winning season, helping the club to win in the Champions League, the Spanish league and the Spanish Cup.

In 2021, in a phenomenal Barcelona side, Putellas was an outstanding player, contributing a noteworthy 37 goals and 27 assists.

She beat down her Barcelona partner Jennifer Hermoso to the award; the third time it has been handed out.

It was introduced in 2018 and won by Norway’s Ada Hegerberg, while American Megan Rapinoe became the second winner the next year. Last year’s awards were cancelled in the midst of the Covid-19 pandemic.

The timing of this season’s awards in a women’s international break has drawn criticisms, a decision making it impossible for certain selected people to attend.

Lionel Messi Finally ‘Arrives’ After Years Of Chase!

Earlier, Barcelona star Pedri won the Kopa Trophy, which was awarded to the best men’s under-21 player. Also, Lewandowski was named the ‘Striker Of The Year,’ another award introduced this year.

Italy goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma was awarded the Yashin Trophy for the best Goalkeeper. European champions Chelsea also was named club of the year, the first team to win that trophy.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *