Google has announced that beginning October 13, 2020, Google Drive is rolling out an improvement so that its trash behaves all the more reliably with the rest of Google applications, (for example, Gmail) concerning automatic deletion.
This implies any document that is placed into Google Drive’s ‘My Drive’ garbage will start to be consequently erased following 30 continuous days in the trash. Things in trash will even now keep on devouring quantity and your storage will in any case keep on being shared across Google Drive, Gmail, and Google Photos.
According to Google, starting October 13, 2020, any files already in a user’s trash, will remain there for 30 days. After the 30-day-period files that have been in the trash for longer than 30 days will begin to be automatically deleted.
Any file that has been in the Google Drive trash for longer than 30 days after October 13, 2020 will be automatically deleted forever, regardless of whether or not you have acknowledged any in-app messaging.
The outfit will be showing in-app messaging in Drive starting September 15, 2020 and in their Editors products (such as Google Docs and Google Forms) starting September 29, 2020.
These changes affect items that are trashed from any device and any platform. There is no impact to Backup and Sync behavior.
All you need to do is restore files from trash before the 30 day time window.
If you are using Google Drive on Android or iOS, please update to the latest versions so you can be updated on the most recent in-app notifications.